top of page
  • Writer's pictureTalia

5 YEAR ANNIVERSARY - 10 FUN FACTS ABOUT US



This past Saturday, April 14th, was Derek and I's five year anniversary of dating (!!!). It's crazy to think that we've been together for half a decade already - time really does fly when you're having fun. :) We really wanted to take some pictures together, especially since we hadn't taken any in a long time, partially since Derek is often the one behind the camera. Unfortunately, it snowed - in April - on our anniversary (despite it being 80 degrees the day before), so we were frozen through by the time we were done taking pictures, but Derek was a trooper and I'm used to sacrificing for the sake of fashion!


A lot of people have asked me the story of how we got together, so here is a summary: I was a freshman on the cheer team at CHS and Derek was a sophomore on the basketball team, and he ended up getting my number from one of my friends at a December game and the rest is history! We basically talked for months until he asked me out in April; Derek always teases me about how persistent he was, since I wasn't really looking for a relationship at the time, and it took almost five months to win my affections. We're both at K-State now - Derek is on track to graduate in December of 2019 with a degree in Mechanical Engineering, and I'll graduate in May 2020 in Event Management.


On Saturday, we took pictures together, shopped around, went out for dinner and dessert, saw "A Quiet Place" (SO GOOD!), and ended the day by watching the movie we watched the day he asked me out five years ago, "The Road to El Dorado" (animated version). I definitely feel extremely blessed that Derek came into my life, and I don't want to imagine living without him! Needless to say, I'm very excited to have been dating my best friend for five years now. :)


{Outfit details are linked below the photos, and I listed 10 fun facts about Derek and I's relationship between each photo posted below!}


XOXO - Talia

___________________________________________________________________


♡ 10 FUN FACTS ABOUT US ♡


1. Derek thought I had just moved to Chanute from Africa when he met me at age 14, although I had been living in Chanute since I was in kindergarten.

2. Derek saved my first kiss for my 15th birthday.

3. The first time he asked me on a date, he - smoothly - dropped a napkin at my lunch table in the CHS cafeteria asking me to Cherry Berry (froyo) - I still have the napkin!

4. I am an adventurous, enthusiastic person while Derek is more skeptical and hesitant, but we balance each other out!

5. Derek's whole family is suuuper tall (basically all 6ft+), so whenever we get together I'm constantly looking up at them (I'm 5'4").

6. Every year for Valentine's, Derek gives me one rose for each year we've been together. (He actually bought a full bouquet this year and basically threw all but four roses away!)

7. Every time we watch a Disney movie, Derek obsesses over the cute animal sidekick (Pascal in Tangled, Meeko in Pocahontas, Olaf/Sven in Frozen, etc.) and basically only pays attention to them the whole movie.

8. We're both deathly afraid of spiders.

9. If we went to Hogwarts, Derek would be in Slytherin (ambitious & skeptical) and I would be in Gryffindor (brave & driven) - proved on Pottermore!

10. Our favorite movie to watch together is Tangled.


Spring Fashion • Styling: Talia • Location: Kansas State University Gardens


OUTFIT DETAILS

♡ TOP: Nordstrom ♡ WEDGES: Madden Girl ♡ JEANS: American Eagle ♡ EARRINGS: Bauble Bar ♡ RING: Kate Spade ♡ BRACELET: Francesca's ♡



190 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page